Malta Updates its Amber List

Malta Updates its Amber List

Valletta, 16.06.2021 - PR 06/002

With effect from the 17th June 2021, and following a new Legal Notice issued by Malta’s Superintendent of Public Health, an updated Amber List of Countries will be adopted for travel to and from Malta.

As per L.N. 255 of 2021, Malta’s Amber List is made up of the following countries:

  • Austria;
  • Cyprus;
  • Czech Republic;
  • Denmark;
  • Estonia;
  • Finland;
  • Hungary;
  • Iceland;
  • Ireland;
  • Germany;
  • Latvia;
  • Lithuania;
  • Luxembourg;
  • Norway;
  • Italy;
  • France;
  • Slovakia;
  • Switzerland;
  • Greece;
  • Croatia;
  • Spain;
  • Poland;
  • Belgium;
  • Bulgaria;
  • Netherlands;
  • Canada;
  • Australia;
  • New Zealand;
  • South Korea;
  • Andorra;
  • Monaco;
  • San Marino;
  • China, including the territories of Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macau; 
  • Vatican City;
  • Israel;
  • Singapore;
  • Slovenia;
  • Japan;
  • United States of America;**
  • Thailand;
  • Portugal;
  • Romania;
  • Lebanon;
  • United Arab Emirates;
  • Turkey;
  • Jordan;
  • Liechtenstein;
  • Sweden; and,
  • United Kingdom.

From the 1st July 2021, EU Citizens need to present a Vaccine Certificate before boarding. The certificate needs to be issued with regards to a vaccine, which is recognised and approved by Malta’s Superintendent of Public Health (Pfizer-BioNtech, Moderna, Oxford-AstraZeneca, Johnson & Johnson). Citizens from any other country need to present a negative PCR Swab Test which needs to be taken at least 72 hours prior to arrival in Malta. 

If upon arrival in Malta, any passenger (aged 5 and older) is not in possession of a negative nasopharyngeal PCR result, a valid Maltese vaccination certificate in case of Maltese nationals and those holding a Maltese residency permit or an official vaccination certificate recognized and approved by the Superintendent of Public Health, the passenger will be subject to a mandatory PCR test and/or mandatory quarantine against a fee as per legal notice LN229 of 2021.

Also from the 17th June, persons who are in possession of a vaccination certificate which is recognised and approved by the Superintendent of Public Health (currently only the Maltese Vaccination Certificate) may also travel to and from Malta from any country listed below:

  • Belarus, 
  • Belize, 
  • Bosnia & Herzegovina, 
  • Bhutan, 
  • Fiji, 
  • Jamaica, 
  • Georgia, 
  • Faroe Islands, 
  • Kosovo, 
  • Kazakhstan, 
  • North Macedonia, 
  • Montenegro, 
  • Moldova, 
  • Vietnam, 
  • Egypt, 
  • Iran, 
  • Libya, 
  • Panama, 
  • Qatar, 
  • Cuba, 
  • Russia, 
  • Serbia, 
  • Taiwan, 
  • Albania, 
  • Armenia, 
  • Azerbaijan 
  • Saudi Arabia.

Mr Johann Buttigieg, Chief Executive Officer of the Malta Tourism Authority welcomed this announcement and hailed it as “another step forward for Malta’s Tourism Sector, which is breathing life again, after COVID-19 restrictive measures were relaxed, slowly and gradually, keeping everyone’s health and safety as a topmost priority, together with ensuring that Malta still has all the right ingredients for everyone to start Feeling Free Again.”

All the latest updates and information about COVID-19 and Malta’s efforts to curb the spread of the virus, whilst guaranteeing the relaxing holiday we all deserve, can be found at 


**Travel to and from the United States of America is limited to the following states Washington, Oregon, Louisiana, Arizona, West Virginia, Colorado, North Dakota, Indiana, Georgia, Texas, Pennsylvania, North Carolina, Tennessee, Iowa, Nebraska, Ohio, South Carolina, New Mexico, Florida, Virginia, Maine, South Dakota, Michigan, Illinois, Delaware, Wisconsin, Puerto Rico, Hawaii, New Jersey, Minnesota, Connecticut, Alaska, New Hampshire, Maryland, New York, Rhode Island, District of Columbia, Massachusetts, Vermont, California.