Marketing

The MTA's Marketing Directorate is led by the Chief Marketing Officer, and supported by a Budgetary Control & Planning team. The marketing outfit consists of various units that deal with different geographical areas which are of interest to the Maltese Islands from a tourism perspective.

The units have been assigned the following responsibilities:

  • Unit 1: UK and Ireland
  • Unit 2: Germany, Austria and Switzerland
  • Unit 3: France, Belgium and Luxembourg
  • Unit 4: Italy, Spain, Portugal and South America
  • Unit 5: Nordic Region, Netherlands and South Africa
  • Unit 6A: USA, Canada, Japan, South Korea and Israel
  • Unit 6B: China
  • Unit 7: Eastern Europe, Russia, Former Soviet States, Balkans and Baltic States
  • Unit 8: Turkey, Mena, Greece, Cyprus, India and Australia
  • Unit 9: Pan-European, Cruises and Special Projects

Each unit is composed of a manager or senior manager, and an executive. All units report back to the Chief Marketing Officer, who is ultimately in charge of International Marketing.

Each of these units liaise on an ongoing basis with the corresponding MTA overseas office or representative in the territory for which they are responsible. By doing so, the units at Head Office can better understand the market, and keep up to date with trends and the specific needs of the potential visitors. They also assist in the development of marketing campaigns, participate in overseas travel fairs and events, create press trip programs that are better suited for the target market and support activities of the overseas network in an effective manner.

By structuring the marketing department into various geographical markets, each team develops a stronger relationship with the overseas office, as well as tour operators, journalists, media representatives and other entities from their respective territories.


Chief Marketing Officer

Mr. Carlo Micallef
E: carlo.micallef@visitmalta.com
T: (356) 22915250


Budgetary Control and Planning

Senior Manager:

Mr. Arthur Grima
E: arthur.grima@visitmalta.com
T: (356) 22915253


Executive Administration

Ms. Ruth Spiteri
E: ruth.e.spiteri@visitmalta.com
T: (356) 22915256

Ms. Fiorella Caruana
E: fiorella.caruana@visitmalta.com 
T: (356) 22915236

Ms. Alison Grech
E: alison.grech@visitmalta.com
T: (356) 22915269

Ms. Yanika Galea
E: yanika.galea@visitmalta.com
T: (356) 22915259


Unit 1: UK & Ireland

Manager:

Ms. Carina Dimech
E: carina.dimech@visitmalta.com
T: (356) 22915263

Executive:

Ms. Rosanne Sciberras
E:rosanne.sciberras@visitmalta.com
T: (356) 22915270


Unit 2: Germany, Austria & Switzerland

Executives:

Mr. Anthony Briffa
E: anthony.briffa@visitmalta.com
T: (356) 22915278

Ms. Yasmine Scorfna
E: yasmine.scorfna@visitmalta.com
T: (356) 22915272


Unit 3: France, Belgium & Luxembourg

Executive:

Mr. Roderick Esposito
E: roderick.esposito@visitmalta.com
T: (356) 22915258


Unit 4: Italy, Spain, Portugal & South America

Manager:

Ms. Francesca Vincenti
E: francesca.vincenti@visitmalta.com
T: (356) 22915277

Executives:

Ms. Christine Darmanin
E: christine.darmanin@visitmalta.com
T: (356) 22915262

Ms. Aimee Muscat
E: aimee.a.muscat@visitmalta.com
T: (356) 22915264


Unit 5: Nordic Region, Netherlands & South Africa

Senior Manager:

Ms. Alexandra Valletta
E: alexandra.valletta@visitmalta.com
T: (356) 22915271

Executive:

Ms. Sharon Falzon
E: sharon.a.falzon@visitmalta.com
T: (356) 22915268


Unit 6A: USA, Canada, Japan, South Korea & Israel

Manager:

Ms. Janet Grech Dimech
E: janet.grech-dimech@visitmalta.com
T: (356) 22915267


Unit 6B: China

Manager:

Ms. Xiaolong Wu (Known as Monica)
E: xiaolong.wu@visitmalta.com
T: (356) 22915257


Unit 7: Eastern Europe, Russia, Former Soviet States, Balkans & Baltic States

Senior Manager:

Mr. John-Mary Attard
E: john-mary.attard@visitmalta.com
T: (356) 22915280

Executive:

Mr. Darrell Aquilina
E: darrell.aquilina@visitmalta.com
T: (356) 22915276


Unit 8: Turkey, Mena, Greece, Cyprus, India & Australia

Executive:

Mr. Jeffrey Powell
E: jeffrey.a.powell@visitmalta.com
T: (356) 22915273


Unit 9: Pan-European, Cruises & Special Projects

Executive:

Ms. Emily Caruana
E: emily.b.caruana@visitmalta.com
T: (356) 22915254


Click here for the list of MTA's overseas representatives.