Reopening Malta's Airport



UPDATE 11/07/2020: Those passengers arriving from the already published list of countries and the following countries do not have to do any quarantine or need any special permits:

  • United Kingdom
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Netherlands
  • Canada
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • South Korea
  • Andorra
  • Monaco
  • San Marino
  • China
  • Vatican City
  • Rwanda
  • Uruguay
  • Slovenia
  • Japan
  • Morocco
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Lebanon
  • Indonesia
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Turkey
  • Jordan
  • Liechtenstein 

Any person coming from any other country and has not spent at least 14 days in any of the safe countries needs a special permit from health and may be obliged to do quarantine in Malta if accepted by the Health Authorities


Malta International Airport reopened on July 1, 2020 and commercial flights to and from Malta resumed from that date.

The first group of destinations that reopened for travel comprised:

  • Germany
  • Austria
  • Italy
  • France
  • Spain
  • Poland
  • Cyprus
  • Switzerland
  • Iceland
  • Slovakia
  • Norway
  • Denmark
  • Hungary
  • Finland
  • Ireland
  • Lithuania
  • Latvia
  • Estonia
  • Luxembourg
  • Czech Republic
  • Greece
  • Croatia

The list of destinations will be monitored regularly and reviewed if necessary.
Restrictions on all other flight destinations will be lifted on July 15.



Click here for information about arrivals and departures to and from Malta International Airport.



In preparation for the resumption of commercial flights starting July 1st 2020, Malta International Airport has implemented various measures in order to maintain a safe environment for passengers and employees. For details