UK & Ireland

United Kingdom:

In 2018, overseas overnight trips by UK residents amounted to 71.9 million, 85% of which (61.1 million) were made by air. (Source: National Statistics UK)

Malta’s market share of total air trips from the UK is 0.9%. With a share of 24.6% (2018) of total inbound tourists, the UK is the largest source market for Malta generating 640,570 tourists. Holidaymakers account for 85.3% of total tourists from this market, 9.1% visit friends and relatives whilst 4.1% come for business purposes (2018). (Source: NSO)

Ireland:

The number of overseas overnight trips taken by Irish residents in 2018 was 8.3 million, 95.6% of which (7.9 million) were made by air.  (Source: CSO Ireland)

Malta’s market share of total air trips from Ireland is 0.5%. Total inbound tourists to Malta from Ireland amount to 40,721 (2018). Holidaymakers account for 86.1% of total inbound Irish tourists to Malta, 7.8% visit friends and relatives whilst 5.1% come for business purposes (2018).  (Source: NSO)


Contacts:

Malta Tourist Office
Unit C Park House
14 Northfields
London, SW18 1DD
T: 00 44 208 877 6991
F: 00 44 208 874 9416
E: office.uk@visitmalta.com
W: https://www.maltauk.com

 

Ms. Tolene van der Merwe
Director
00 44 208 877 6991
tolene.van-der-merwe@visitmalta.com

 

Ms. Natalie de Laune

Manager - Advertising, PR and Fairs
00 44 208 877 6995
Natalie.de-laune@visitmalta.com

 

Ms. Karen Abela

Manager - MICE
00 44 208 877 6994
karen.abela@conventionsmalta.com

 

Ms. Natalie Swinburne
Marketing Executive
00 44 208 877 6997
natalie.swinburne@visitmalta.com 

 

Ms. Louise Zammit

Information and Support Services Officer
00 44 208 877 6992
louise.zammit@visitmalta.com

 

Ms. Vanessa Sammut
Senior Finance & Administration Officer
00 44 208 877 6999
vanessa.sammut@visitmalta.com

 

Ms.Mimi Visheva
Office Administrator
00 44 208 877 6996
mimi.b.visheva@visitmalta.com